jump to navigation

Visits and goodbyes 31 agosto, 2012

Posted by jmorsa in En English, EVS.
trackback
I don´t write here since a lot of time, but not only I don´t write because I haven´t time but also because I want to record myself in my vlog, and all this stole me a lot of time.
 
The days passed very quickly and although this August I neither haven´t had a lot of work in Društvo Ustvarjalcev Taka Tuka I nor had traveled a lot  -only one day to Bled and other day to Zagreb-, I have had a lot of visits and goodbyes.
 
But let’s begin with the visits, no?, they are more positives:
  • Can´s Birthday:

The 26th
 of July was Can´s birthday and as Can always protests about the European volunteer and Segundo and me knew that it’s very sad to be 23 years and not have to anybody whom celebrate it, we –Segundo and me- organized one surprise party for him at home.
 
As we didn’t know how to localize Can’s Turkish friends in Ljubljana, we send one mail to the friends who Can and me met at the arrival training. The idea was clear; Can could not know anything about the party and the people only had to bring water guns, because the party was thematic. We wanted to make one water war in our garden but all were back to front.
 
First Can -that never goes out of house in the morning- said us that this day he was going to go with his friends to Portoroz –since he is here, he always wanted to go to the beach-, and second, the water party became a real water party because the sun that there was in the morning was covered by the clouds and began to rain wetting to the people that came to the party.
 
Although everybody didn’t come to the party -a lot of people didn’t see the event in facebook- it was a funny situation. In the night we could to go to Metelkova because the rain stopped.
  • Paula’s sister and Edu´s mother:

As I said, August was a month of visits, but not only mine but also of Paula and Edu.

Paula and Edu are two Spanish that make the european volunteer service in others cities of here, Slovenia. While Edu works in Mariborska Kolesarska Mreža –a association dedicated to the promotion of cycling as a sustainable and healthy transport where he makes workshops about how to repair one bicycle, and the like-, Paula works in the Mladinski Center Velenje -a kind of civic center for youngsters-.
The thing is that as they live in Maribor and Velenje respectively, if they have one visit is obvious that they will want to see and show the capital, who involves me because I live in Ljubljana. So, when they came to Ljubljana -taking advantage of neither Segundo or Can stay at home- they called me to see me and to try stay to sleep.
 
At first, I liked the idea, because to stay five days at home alone in the middle of the forest didn’t sound very encouraging -my house when there aren´t anybody seems the “Scream House”, any noise seems more of which really is, and think that the assassin can to be behind one door or other thing-, even the Paula´s sister would come before that Edu´s mother, so I would have busy all days less one.
However, I don’t know if this passed for fortune or for misfortune, Paula didn’t find a car that could to take her sister to Trieste -her sister came by plane to one village in Italian coast to 12 kms of Slovenia- and they had to return to Ljubljana when Edu and his mother stayed at home.It was one history very long on the one hand funny and the other hand tired. Perhaps in my opinion too much days, but the better day -without detracting from other days- was the last day;  Paula stayed at home because she don´t find any car in prevoz -one website which you can find people that share their car and their travel to any part of Slovenia- and her bus didn´t depart until 20:00 so we ate at home and we went to see the old bazaar -one typical and old bazaar in the streets near of the river that the people sell antique furniture,  objects from the war, and so on – and we visited the City Museum, where we help each other to translate the panels about Ljubljana´s history. It is very interesting and didactic for the children because have a lot of things to prove and experiment -Mental note: I have to go to The House of Experiments-.
 
  • Mila and Toni


Finally, my first visit; my friend Mila. That’s funny because before start my european volunteer service, in my goodbye with my university friends -Sandra and Mila- when I communicate them my news about this volunteer service, Mila´s boyfriend -Toni- said me that they will go to Ljubljana this summer and; voilá! on 15 of August they came.

It was very strange, because always that I have seen Mila or Toni had been in Madrid, in the Bear and the Strawberry Tree but this time was different, we was in other country and as Vanessa says “Where Christ lost the lighter”.
The true is that I liked a lot Mila´s visit, as with Edu´s mother and Paula´s sister, I joined them and I showed them the city. I told them about the stories about the city, their artists as Prešeren or Plecnik etc.

  • Velenje Festival

And as all hello has their goodbye, Velenje was the place where I realised that this volunteering is not forever. Nalan -a Turkish girl that I met in my arrival training- said goodbye to her volunteering of 3 months in Velenje -in the same organization that Paula-.
 
The weekend of August 25, Velenje celebrates its fiftieth “Festival mladih kultur Kunigunda”. A festival of music, projections, and alternative art done with the collaboration of young people and volunteers of the associations of the city. One of these was Mladinski Center Velenje that as I said before, is the association where Paula and Nalan work.
 
It was a different weekend, although the Sunday the rain doesn’t stop, the Saturday we can go and see -and a little of dancing too- the activities proposed to these day. First a food made by Paula´s association, after this one peculiar inauguration where we entered in a kind of squatting house and saw one video in Slovenian -obvious- where only understood words as “kruh” -bread-, “pomoč” -help- and others. At finish we discovered that the video was an introduction to the exhibition that was host in the building; A real tribute to bread!. When the video finish the lights turned on we saw an alternative exhibition of “breadart” -for me “shits of ceramic and bread”-, which could be done by one six years old kid. The more expectant work was a big table done by burnt bread pieces, where, if you saw it from afar; you could see one image of two kids of some place of Africa which had them arm stretched asking for bread.
 
After this adventure and after of survive to one concert of Slovenian music of people with accordion dressed of peasant, we come to our first stop and we saw two concerts; one concert of two persons singing rap and after this one dj that put reggae – It’s funny because here, people don´t dance, only are sitting and drinking alcohol -.
 
About 2.00 in the night as Can and Nalan were very tired; they, Segundo and I went to Paula and Nalan house. There Nalan showed us the videos that she has done about her volunteering and we were speaking about her experience and future vision. Then we went to bed and about 4.00 Paula and Edu came to house.
 
The Sunday and after one busy night, dawned raining and for this reason we couldn’t go to see the lake and the castles -I liked the castle that is seen from the terrace of Paula and Nalan house- but it will be other day -maybe-.
 
The truth is that I can’t complain of my month of August, it had had a little of all, moments for smiling, moment for thinking… I don´t know, I think that I like this, not only for my work but also for my experience and the people that I’m knowing.
 
The other day I spoke with Segundo about this. I only staid in Slovenia since a few months, perhaps this time is not enough to know one person, but people as Paula, Maja, Edu, Liisi, Can, Nalan, Segundo -but he doesn´t count because I met him before my EVS- … are now my friends -without detracting of my friends of Spain- and even, I feel them as my new family.
 
Well, I´m leaving this, I don´t want to be one maudlin, lol. We will see how is September, no?
 
A hug and I hope your comments 😉
Comentarios»

1. Cris - 1 septiembre, 2012

You English looks great! 😉

2. Cris - 1 septiembre, 2012

I meant youR English

jmorsa - 1 septiembre, 2012

Thank you for all. I try to improve it each day but here you are the english teacher. If you see one mistake in my posts you told me, ok? Thank you again and a very very big hug!!!

3. twilight constellation night lights - 27 octubre, 2012

Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet
Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give
you a quick heads up! Other then that, great blog!

jmorsa - 1 diciembre, 2012

Thank you for the comments but I don´t know how to resolve it. I wait that not a lot of people use internet explorer to read me, lol 😄 Bye!!

4. Colby - 30 noviembre, 2012

This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Cheers!

jmorsa - 1 diciembre, 2012

Relevant?? help you?? ok!! this is one strange but good new :¬) You will tell me in what this post -or blog- has helped you. 😄 See you!!

5. restaurant marrakech quartier juif - 1 diciembre, 2012

I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website
yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. kudos

jmorsa - 1 diciembre, 2012

Yes, I design this blog with the free template “regulus” and after added several pages like “educacion”, “educavlog” and so on and even some widgets. If you have some doubt, you can tell me, ok? see you and thanks for your comments.


Responder

